Lookout: a haven for books that matter



©Erin Almond


Clare Beams author photo
©Kristi Jan Hoover


Ben Miller
©Tom O'Neill


Matthew Neill Null
©Rebecca Gayle Howell


Edith Pearlman
©Jonathan Sachs



John Rybicki
©Laurie Phelps



Steve Almond

God Bless America: Stories
ISBN 978-0-9845922-3-4 • $17.95 • 224 pages • 5.5 x 8.5, French flaps
October 25, 2011

Steve Almond is the author of the story collections God Bless America, winner of the 2012 Paterson Fiction Prize, The Evil B.B. Chow, and My Life in Heavy Metal; the novel Which Brings Me to You (with Julianna Baggott); and the nonfiction books Rock and Roll Will Save Your Life, (Not That You Asked), and Candyfreak. His stories have appeared in Playboy, Zoetrope, Ploughshares, and Ecotone, among other magazines, and have been reprinted in Best American Short Stories and The Pushcart Prize.



Clare Beams

We Show What We Have Learned & Other Stories
ISBN 978-1-9405961-4-3 • $17.95 • 184 pages • 5.5 x 8.5, French flaps
October 25, 2016

Clare Beams is the author of the story collection We Show What We Have Learned. Her stories appear in One Story, n+1, Ecotone, The Common, the Kenyon Review, Hayden’s Ferry Review, and The Best American Nonrequired Reading, and have received special mention in The Best American Short Stories 2013 and The Pushcart Prize XXXV. She is the recipient of awards from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and currently blogs for Ploughshares. After teaching high school English for six years in Falmouth, Massachusetts, she moved with her husband and daughter to Pittsburgh, where she teaches creative writing at Saint Vincent College and the Pittsburgh Center for the Arts.


Ben Miller
River Bend Chronicle: The Junkification of a Boyhood Idyll amid the Curious Glory of Urban Iowa
ISBN 978-0-9849000-0-8 • $17.95 • 400 pages • 5.5 x 7.5, French flaps
March 12, 2013

Ben Miller has published in AGNI, Ecotone, the Kenyon Review, the Antioch Review, Raritan, Salmagundi, One Story, and other journals. His essays have been reprinted or noted six times in Best American Essays, and his awards include fellowships from the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University and the National Endowment for the Arts. He lives in New York City with his wife, the poet Anne Pierson Wiese.


Matthew Neill Null
Honey from the Lion: A Novel
ISBN 978-1-9405960-8-2 • $18.95 • 268 pages • 5.5 x 7.5, French flaps
September 8, 2015

Matthew Neill Null is a recipient of the Joseph Brodsky Rome Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Mary McCarthy Prize, and the Michener–Copernicus Society of America Award. His stories appear in American Short Fiction, Ecotone, the Oxford American, Ploughshares, The PEN /O. Henry Prize Stories, and The Best American Mystery Stories. A native of West Virginia, he holds an MFA from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and was a fellow at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, Massachusetts, where he is currently the writing coordinator. Honey from the Lion is his first novel.


Edith Pearlman

Binocular Vision: New & Selected Stories
ISBN 978-0-9823382-9-2 • $18.95 • 392 pages • 5.5 x 8.5, French flaps
January 11, 2011

Edith Pearlman is the recipient of the 2011 PEN/Malamud Award for excellence in the art of short fiction. Her most recent collection, Binocular Vision: New & Selected Stories, won the 2011 National Book Critics Circle Award, the Harold U. Ribalow Prize, the Julia Ward Howe Prize, and the Edward Lewis Wallant Award, and was named Foreword Book of the Year and a finalist for the National Book Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and The Story Prize. She has published more than 250 works in national magazines and anthologies, including Best American Short Stories, The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories, New Stories from the South, and The Pushcart Prize, and three previous story collections: Vaquita, winner of the Drue Heinz Prize for Literature, Love Among the Greats, winner of the Spokane Fiction Award, and How to Fall, winner of the Mary McCarthy Prize. She lives in Brookline, Massachusetts.


John Rybicki
When All the World Is Old: Poems
ISBN 978-0-9845922-6-5 • $16.95 • 120 pages • 5.75 x 9, French flaps
April 10, 2012

John Rybicki was born and raised in Detroit. He is the author of two previous poetry collections, We Bed Down into Water and Traveling at High Speeds. His poems have appeared in Poetry, Ploughshares, American Poetry Review, Ecotone, and Bomb, among many others, and have been reprinted in Best American Poetry and The Pushcart Prize. He teaches poetry writing through InsideOut Literary Arts Project and Wings of Hope Hospice to children who have been through a trauma or loss. When he is not teaching, he changes tires, paints houses, and does some carpentry. He lives in Augusta, Michigan, with his son, Martell.